Ricky HinojosaSophomore percussionist Ricky Hinojosa of Cooper High School earned a place on the 2019 Texas Music Educators Association Class 5A All-State Band.

Hinojosa won his trip to the state convention this week in San Antonio by being selected as first chair in percussion at area auditions in Odessa. He participated in clinics at the TMEA annual convention and will perform with the All-State Band on Saturday, Feb. 16, at the Henry Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio.

Both Cooper and AHS band students competed in the TMEA Region 6 Band Audition in December at AHS and in area in January in Odessa.

Five Abilene High School students were selected for the All-Region Concert Band:  Olivia Marquez – Flute; Kaylee Bentle – Clarinet; Carolyne Perkins – Bass Clarinet; Adrian Fowlkes – Trumpet; and Parker Fowlkes – French Horn.

CHS had 12 students selected for the Concert Band: Sebastian Tardiff – Bassoon; Madison Warren, Erin Gutschke, Stephanie Hamline, and Sonali Bhikha – Clarinet; Sydnney Nunn and Candace Foster-Johnson – Sax; Katherine Woodard and Cooper Naredo – French Horn; Jacob Moore – Trombone; Darius Conner – Euphonium; and William Harper – Tuba.

Nine AISD students were selected for the All-Region Symphonic Band: From AHS, Jia Spangler – Oboe; Nathaniel Hernandez and Jada Williams – Clarinet; Brooke Garduno – French Horn; and Brian Lester – Euphonium; and from CHS: Isaac Lock – Cornet/Trumpet; Amanda Strickland – French Horn; Jeremiah Gonzales – Trombone; and Ricardo Hinojosa – Percussion.

Eight more AISD students All-Region Orchestra: From AHS, Jia Spangler – Oboe; Jada Williams – Clarinet; Brooke Garduno and Parker Fowlkes – French Horn; and Brian Lester – Euphonium; and from CHS, Isaac Lock – Trumpet; Amanda Strickland – Horn; and Ricardo Hinojosa – Percussion.

AISD selections for the All-Region Freshman Band were, from AHS, Nicholas Gonzalez and Karissa Ward – Clarinet; Kate Voss – Bass Clarinet; Jacob Valdez –Sax; and Gustavo Marquez – Trombone; and from CHS, Kayleigh Hopkins – Flute; Emma Martinez – Cornet/Trumpet; Meredith Clancy – French Horn; Jared Rafan – Trombone; John David King – Tuba; and Ronald Alexander – Percussion.

AHS band students are under the direction of Jonathan Kraemer, Tyler Jacks, Christina Hurlbut and Brittany Tawater. CHS band students are under the direction of Clay Johnson, Jennifer Reece and Patrick Stevenson.

Choir Students Qualify for State UIL Solo & Ensemble Contest

AHS and CHS choir students competed in the University Interscholastic League Region 6 East Zone Solo & Ensemble competition on Jan. 26 at McMurry University, and many of those students are headed to state after top performances.

The UIL Texas State Solo & Ensemble Contest will be held at the University of Texas at Austin on­­­­­ June 1 – 3,

Qualifying for state by earning a first division rating on a memorized Class 1 solo were AHS choir students Justin Ashburn, Leann Bailey, Addison Brewer, Alondra Finnell, Mia Flores, Haley Guzman, Lauren Hampton, William Hampton, Travis Hatch, Hannah Hillis, Sidney Irwin, Jordan Mathis, Ali McElhaney, James Melson, Molly Mercer, Mia Mirelez, Alyssa Orozco, Jared Owens, Hansen Penya, Natalie Porter, Lindsay Rogers, Valeria Rueda Villamarin, Kylee Russell, Raegan Schmidt, Alexandra Shewmaker, Harrison Smith, Jenna Stevens, Mackenzie Stevens, Bennett Sullivan, Clark Sullivan, Maddie Thomas, Macy Wallace and Claire White.

CHS students earning a berth to state in Class 1 solo were Nalani Abdullah, Gabe Banks, Mariah Castanon, Timothy Castillo, Trevor Cox, Gabby Crespo, Aubri Cruse, Emani Davis, Rachelle Dehesa, Lynzee Ellison, Christian Garcia, Justin Garcia, Mya Gonzales, Taryn Howard, Christopher Huerta, Derek Jones, Julianne Joynes, Krystian Leal, Clancy McInroe, Rylan McInroe, Liliah Monroy, Cherance Mpoy, Carrmin Ray, Baylee Schroedter, Timareya Scott, Hallie Stone, Jeremiah Thomas, Mariah Valdez, Karyncia Walker, Madison Warren, Jada Willis, Haven Young and Jackson Young.

In Class 1 Ensemble, CHS students qualifying for state werre Nalani Abdullah, Aynslee Clements, Gabby Crespo, Aubri Cruse, Christopher Huerta, Derek Jones, Clancy McInroe, Liliah Monroy, Kaleb Moss, Jordan Ochoa, Baylee Schroedter, Jada Willis and Jackson Young.

CHS students earning a first division rating on a Class II solo were David McRae and Jemimah Moligi, while AHS students earning first division in Class III solo were Daniella Cecil, Isabella Estrada, Alyssa Garza, Viviana Hita-Murillo, Koller Lackey and Cameron Robertson.

AHS choirs are under the direction of Wendy Weeks and Remel Derrick, and Cara Naizer and Josh Westman direct CHS choirs.