ABILENE — The Abilene ISD Board of Trustees took the next step in the re-naming of four elementary campuses named for Confederate figures Monday night when they voted 7-0 to approve a process and timelines for re-naming those schools.

The process includes putting together a committee made up of members of the community, students, parents and AISD staff to re-name Jackson, Johnston and Lee elementary schools. The board reserved the right to re-name Reagan Elementary School via board action since it is closing at the end of the 2020-21 school year and will not be in use as an education site in the AISD.

The timeline the board adopted calls for the committee to recommend new names to the board at the Dec. 3 workshop meeting with the board having its first opportunity to approve new names at the Dec. 7 meeting. New names for each campus will not take effect until after the conclusion of the 2020-21 school year.

If you are a member of the staff or a parent of a current student (K-5) at Jackson, Johnston, or Lee elementary schools and would like to serve on the committee to re-name those schools, please send an email with your name, contact info and campus you represent to gregory.fleming@abileneisd.org.

• The AISD Board of Trustees voted 7-0 to approve the purchase of new playground equipment for 13 elementary schools (excluding Reagan, which will close at the end of the 2020-21 school year). The equipment will cost $1.08 million & should be in place at each site In the spring. The equipment will be paid for from the general fund ($750,000) & 2018 bond money ($350,000) & also comes with the aid of a $500,000 grant to drop the cost from $1.69 million.

• The Board of Trustees has voted 7-0 to approve the attendance boundary updates. Students from Reagan – which is closing at the end of the 2020-21 school year – will be assigned to either Austin, Bassetti, Dyess or Lee based on their current home address.