ABILENE – AISD high school band, choir, and orchestra students were recently honored as Texas Music Scholars.

Abilene High band students earning this award were:  Karissa Ward (clarinet), Courtney Molina and Coleman Patterson (sax), William Marshall (trumpet), Brooke Garduno (horn), Gustavo Marquez (trombone), and Mallory Traylor (percussion). Abilene High choir students earning this award were:  Leann Bailey, Alex Dacanay, Vicky Gao, Olivia Horn, Mia Mirelez, Kylee Russell, and Mira Savage (soprano), Hope Arrazola, Jadyn Atkinson-Jones, Molly Mercer, and Jasmine Vargas (alto), Harrison Smith and Luke Tebow (tenor), and Jordan Mathis and Alan Mercer (bass). Abilene High orchestra students earning this award were:  Ethan Dunn (violin) and Grant Bridge and Frank Fang (cello).

Cooper band students earning this award were: Owen Bailey (oboe), Sebastian Tardiff (bassoon), Jaime Herrera and Eddie Stefan (clarinet), Meredith Clancy, Maleah Hudson, Aaron Reece, and John Tran (horn), Jacob Moore (trombone), John David King (tuba), and Aaron Brokovich (percussion). Cooper choir students earning this award were:  Julie Bewane and Noa Moore (soprano), Kyla Speights and Kadence Viel (alto), Trevor Cox and Brayden Flores (tenor).

They were nominated for this honor by their directors, Jon Kraemer (AHS band), Jessica Fox (CHS band), Cara Naizer (CHS choir), Wendy Weeks (AHS choir), and Darcy Radcliffe (AHS & CHS orchestra).

The award is given by the Texas Music Educators Association, which sponsors the Texas All-State Bands, Orchestras and Choirs.  Last year, approximately 2,300 students were named as Texas Music Scholars. This award is given to students who have exhibited outstanding qualities in scholastic merit, musicianship, and citizenship in their school and community during the 2020-2021 school year.

The Texas Music Educators Association, headquartered in Austin, is an association of more than 15,000 music teachers whose goals are to support music education in Texas, provide professional growth opportunities for educators, foster public support for music in schools, and offer quality musical experiences for students.