The Texas Education Agency has announced the designation of seven AISD schools as Purple Star Campuses for the 2022-2023 school year. Those campuses include Abilene High School, Cooper High School, the Academy of Technology, Engineering, Math, and Science (ATEMS), Clack Middle School, and Bassetti, Dyess, and Ward elementary schools.

According to the TEA, the Purple Star Campus Designation was established in 2019 by the 86th Texas Legislature and recognizes Texas public schools that provide high quality supports to meet the unique needs of military-connected students and their families. To be eligible, campuses must designate a campus-based military liaison, create and maintain an easily accessible web page that includes information for military-connected students and their families, institute a campus transition program for military-connected students, and support a military family assistance initiative.

Abilene ISD is now the only school district in Region 14 with Purple Star designated campuses. Nearly 200 campuses across the state applied for the designation, reflecting the commitment of Texas educators to bring the needs of military-connected students and families to the forefront. The Lone Star State is second nationally in the number of military-connected students it educates in public schools.

“I am extremely proud of the work these schools are doing to meet the needs of students and families that have sacrificed an incredible amount in service to our country,” said Texas Education Commissioner, Mike Morath. “We recognize the challenges military-connected students often face when transitioning schools. However, these campuses are committed to maximizing the availability of high-quality supports to make that transition easier and to help set these students up for success.”

Purple Star campus designations last for two years. To learn more about the criteria and application process, visit the TEA’s Purple Star Campus Designation webpage.