ABILENE –  AISD high school art students participated in the Texas Art Education Association’s sponsored scholastic art events; Regional Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE) with 11 going on to participate in State VASE.

The mission of the TAEA Visual Arts Scholastic Event is to “recognize exemplary student achievement in the Visual Arts by providing art students a program with a standard of excellence in which to achieve.” Not only do students create original artworks, they also write about their work and creation process. Students are entered according to their Division, which refers to the art course in which they are currently enrolled. According to TAEA, jurors look for originality of concept, technical expertise, understanding of the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS), and the interpretation of the student’s stated intent.

VASE begins at the region level with nearly 20,000 pieces being submitted for judging across the state of Texas. AISD students earned a total of 89 medals for their artwork in the Region 14 competition.  Approximately 1600 pieces advance to the state competition. The work of 11 AISD students will advance to the state competition held virtually in May.

Abilene High School students whose work earned Region medals are Natalia Alcantar, Mara Condra, Shannon Henry, Emma Horn, Avery Kerr, Lauren Scott, Glorianna Nichols, Cameron Robertson, Brandon Rodriguez, Rigby Samuels, James Wellborn, Jadyn Hathaway, Stephonia Hines, McKell Adams, Lily Alexander, Marissa Cardenas, Molly Carroll, Elijah Davila, Jocelyn Dyer, Laura Lafoy, Hunter Mansker, Audrey Meffert, Grace Terry, Miriam Tirado-Solis, and Zachary Vickers.  Abilene High School art students are taught by April Rifenburgh, Jason Clements, Shelby Meier, Kelly McNamee, and Tommy Evans.

Cooper High School students whose work earned Region medals are Thomas Bannister, Micah Boykin (2), Helena Bridge, Tyler Cluck, Brandon Dobbs, Destiny Falcon, Cody Farley, Isa Garcia, Denzel Hernandez, Madyson Lawson, Austin Lloyd, Aaliyah Mendoza, Sakari Ochoa, Kayden Portillo, Liberty Price, Rosie Tamayo, Mackenzie Wasson, Savannah Abor, Darcy Bell, Mansi Bhakta, Krishna Boon, Jack Boyd, Kate Boyd, Jean Damour, Balen Diaz Herrera, Christina Dobbs, Andrew Downs, Ryder Ellis, Marysol Espericueta, Madison Ewest, Lune Finch, Hayley Fox, Kaydence Gonzales, Sydney Gordon, Holli Holder, Willow Holloway, Maleah Hudson, Jasmine Lowe, Nevaeh Medina, Kaden Miller, Tivona Nguyen, Justin Parks-Stewart, Kasanddra Race, Jason Reid, Iva Rodriguez, Zoe Rodriguez, Hannah Rooslet, Gabrielle Sanchez, Jacob Santana, Skyla Stark, Anita Alcantar, Lilliana Garcia, Alexandria Mcwhorter, Cheyenne Grey, Emily Knight, Morgan Kruse, Jeanett Macias, Justice Moore, Xing Pan, Katelynn Smith, and Cambree Workman. Cooper High School art students are taught by Amanda Baldwin, Sherry Griffith, Shelby Meier, Kim Westfall, and Melody Kennedy.

Emma Horn, Glorianna Nichols, and James Wellborn (AHS); and Tyler Cluck, Denzel Hernandez, Rosie Tamayo, Madison Ewest, Hayley Fox, Sydney Gordon, Zoe Rodriguez, and Jacob Santana (CHS) School advanced to State.

At the State VASE event, held April 23-24, five students received a Rating IV-Exemplary and received State Medallions. Those students are Glorianna Nichols, James, Wellborn, Tyler Cluck, Denzel Hernandez, and Rosie Tamayo. One student, Sydney Gordon, received a Rating V-Distinguished (Gold Seal) recognition, the highest given at State VASE, and received a Gold Seal Medallion. Gordon’s artwork will tour four locations on exhibition around the state of Texas. All of these students are named All-State Artist by TAEA and VASE.